General RulesRedBookNow on


Valid for Americans, Australians, and other non EU-citizens.

However, if you have been living in America, Australia and other non European countries for six months or more then you may apply for an Eurail pass.

Receive a discounted fare on Eurostar provided you buy your ticket on the day of travel.

If you’re over 26, you can get a discount on selected car hire.

Sleepers are 1, 2 or 3 bed compartments, usually separated for males and females, unless reserved by a couple or family. There are various classes of sleeper options depending on your preference/destinations.

You must validate your Eurail Pass on or before your first day of travel, by presenting it and your passport at the station.

The standard Eurail Global Pass offers 2nd class seating.

The Eurail Global Pass Saver option allows discounted adult travel in 1st class for 2-5 people travelling together.

The Eurail Global Pass Youth provides 2nd class travel for youths aged 25 and under.

Children aged 3 and under travel for free. Children aged 4-11 years qualify for half the adult fare. Ages 12-25 years can avail of youth second class passes.

You must use the pass within 6 months of issue.

Passes cannot be replaced if lost or stolen.

Over 60s senior discount only applies to the Eurail Romania Pass and the Eurail Ireland Pass Passes can be used consecutively or non-consecutively. This means when purchasing a rail pass for a certain number of days within a 1,2 or 3 month period. You don’t have to use your days all in one row. Mix it up with a days travelling and a few days staying within a particular location, before moving on.


Eurail Global Passes

The continuous pass is available for 15 days, 21 days, 1 month, 2 months or 3 months.

The Flexipass is available for 10 or 15 days of travel within a 2 month period

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland (includes Northern Ireland), Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and The Netherlands.

Eurail Select Passes

Unlimited travel on the national rail networks of 3, 4 or 5 bordering countries.

Choice of countries include: Austria, Benelux (includes Belgium, Luxembourg, The Netherlands), Bulgaria/Serbia/Montenegro, Croatia/Slovenia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland (includes Northern Ireland), Romania, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Choice of 5, 6, 8, 10 within 2 months, consecutively or not. You can even travel back and forth between the countries if you’d like. The 5 countries pass has a 15 day within 2 months travel option.

Eurail Regional Passes – refer to country specific rules